Posted on


The Highland Book Prize, established in 2017, celebrates the finest published work that recognises the rich landscape and cultural heritage of the Highlands. This annual prize is open to work in fiction, non-fiction and poetry.

Presented by the Highland Society of London and facilitated by Moniack Mhor Writers’ Centre, this literary prize aims to bring recognition to books created in or about the Highlands. The winner will be announced at the Ullapool Book Festival May 11 – 13, 2018 and receive prize money of £1000 and a writing retreat at Moniack Mhor.

Application Details:

UK publishers can access a full application pack and entry form to submit their books here:

Books must be published by an established UK-based publisher or imprint between January 1, 2017 and December 31, 2017 for the 2018 prize.

To be eligible for submission to The Highland Book Prize, titles must comply with at least one of the following criteria:

– Promote or concern itself with Highland culture, heritage or landscape
– Have a significant amount of activity set in the Highlands
– The author(s) must have been born in the Highlands
– The author(s) must have lived in the Highlands for no less than 12 months preceding the publication date.
– The author(s) must have lived in the Highlands for a period of 6 years or more

For the purpose of the Highland Book Prize the “Highlands” are defined as the 2017 Local Authority areas Argyll & Bute, Highland, Orkney Islands, Shetland Islands, Western Isles and Moray.

For further information, please contact [email protected] or visit

The deadline is Friday 27 October 2017 at 17:00.